Awards & Accolades

PUBLICATIONS:  At the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association’s Summer Institute, held June 15-18 at the UNC-CH School of Media and Journalism, two Cape Fear Academy publications were recognized. Shoreline, the yearbook, edited by Julia Andrews and Hannah Williams, earned an All North Carolina rating as well as the Tar Heel award. The yearbook also received awards in the following categories: 1st Place: Coverage and Advertising;  2nd Place: Photography and Layout; 3rd Place:Copy and Cover Design; Honorable Mention: Theme.

The Hurricane newspaper, edited by Sheila Núñez and Savanah Knowles, earned a rating of Distinction, as well as awards in these categories: 1st Place: Photography; 2nd Place:  Editorial, Sports, and News; 3rd Place: Features and Design; Honorable Mention: Graphics.

In individual competition, Erin Sweeney was awarded 1st Place for her sports spread design, while Rip Judge earned 1st Place in the feature writing category.

Upper School Director Hugh McManus was selected as Administrator of the Year by the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association and was honored  at the awards banquet held in the Loudermilk Center for Excellence. Advisor Jan Reid received the Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award and was elected President pro tempore for the 2015-16 term.

All were recognized at the annual institute, in which high school journalism students and teachers from across the state participated. The institute includes training by UNC journalism faculty and other professional journalists. NCSMA supports and monitors student journalism in state high schools.

Six Publications students accompanied advisor Jan Reid to the four-day Institute held on the UNC campus: Rip Judge, Josh Reda, Erin Sweeney, Madison Graham, PJ Middleton, and Alex Koch, where they took classes in theme development, design, writing, coverage, leadership, and photography in Carroll Hall, home of the School of Media and Journalism.

THEATRE: November 2014 – NC Theatre Competition  – Upper School Drama performs Asylum and The Actor’s Nightmare, receiving superior ratings for each and winning nine awards overall:

  • Barbizon Lighting Award for Excellence in Student Design and Production – Shepherd Sullivan, Kelly Butler, Costume Design, (both plays)
  • Barbizon Lighting Award for Excellence in Student Design and Production – Camille Bourne, TJ Carter, Fisher Yeargan, Eric Kanzinger – Scenic Construction, (both plays)
  • Barbizon Lighting Award for Outstanding Achievement in Student Design and Production – TJ Carter, Scenic Design, “Asylum”
  • Excellence in Acting – Grace Murtha, “The Actor’s Nightmare”
  • Outstanding Achievement in Acting – Lea Jaffe, “The Actor’s Nightmare”
  • Excellence in Ensemble Acting – “Asylum”
  • Excellence in Directing – Jennifer Avery, “Asylum”
  • Distinguished Play – “Asylum”

BAND  2015-2016 (to date)

NC Association of Independent Schools Honor Band  Ramsay Trask, Adrian Jones, Caroline Crumrine, Jack Glynn, Annie Kane, Maya Arora, Tyler Smith, Andrew Basinger, Casey Medlin, Noah Durham, Alexis Mearns, Mack Webb, Vance Young, Ethan Sikka, Max Hall, Delilah Mills, Jack Sloan, Ford Chappell, Spencer Lampkin, Rebecca Holden, Cecilia DeMoss, Elizabeth Baker, Libby Moore, Julia Allen, Jordan Caplanson-Torrens, Camryn Kellogg, Will Boggio, Cole Boggio, Landon Pierpan, Thomas Smith, Cole Frazier, August Mills, Lee Jackson, Walker Moore, Michael Meeks


NC All State Band  Michael Meeks, Mack Webb

NC Governors’ School – Instrumental Music  Lee Jackson, percussion; Michael Meeks, percussion

UNC-Pembroke Honors Band Camryn Kellogg, Ira Soltis, Jordan Caplanson-Torrens, Ramsay Trask, Maya Arora, Tyler Smith, Mack Webb

NC Bandmasters SEDBA All District Band  Ramsay Trask, Adrian Jones, Annie Kane, Tyler Smith, Maya Arora, Mack Webb, Rebecca Holden, Cecilia DeMoss, Yasmine Henneke, Kellogg, Katherine Drew Marapese, Caroline Marapese, Thomas Smith, August Mills, Michael Meeks

NC Association of Independent Schools Honor Band  Ramsay Trask, Adrian Jones, Libby Moore, Alyssa Callahan, Julia Allen, Annie Kane, Maya Arora, Henry Meyers, James Bowling, Reed Franck, Tyler Smith, Max Hall, Sara Meehan, Cole Frazier, Rebecca Holden, Cecilia DeMoss, Jordan Caplanson-Torrens, Yasmine Henneke, Camryn Kellogg, Will Boggio, Jared Lowell, Ira Soltis, Ford Wright, Cole Boggio, Katherine Drew Marapese, Caroline Marapese, August Mills, Lee Jackson, Michael Meeks, George Austria