Cape Fear Academy’s yearbook, Shoreline, won the coveted Tar Heel Award for the third time at the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association (NCSMA) Summer Institute on June 13 – 15 at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  The 2015 Shoreline, edited by Julia Andrews and Hannah Williams, earned an All North Carolina rating as well asfirst place in the categories of Coverage and Advertising, as well as second place for Photography and Layout, third place for Copy and Cover Design, and an honorable mention for Theme.

The Hurricane newspaper, edited by Sheila Nunez and Savanah Knowles, earned a rating of Distinction, as well as awards in these categories:  Photography, first place; Editorial, Sports, and News, second place; Features and Design, third place; and for Graphics, honorable mention.

In individual competition, Erin Sweeney was awarded first place for her sports spread design, while Rip Judge earned first place in the feature writing category.

Upper School Director Hugh McManus was selected as Administrator of the Year and was recognized at the awards banquet held in the Loudermilk Center for Excellence.  Advisor Jan Reid received the Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award and was elected President pro tempore for the 2015-16 term.