Cape Fear Academy Students Win Awards at Summer Journalism Institute

(from press release)
CHAPEL HILL – Shoreline,  the yearbook at Cape Fear Academy in Wilmington, NC, won the coveted Tar Heel Award at the recent North Carolina Scholastic Media Association (NCSMA) Summer Institute at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The 2012 Shoreline with the theme “In the Right Direction” earned first place in five out of eight categories: copy, coverage, photography, layout, and advertising. The yearbook was designated All North Carolina status. In addition, the following members of the Shoreline staff received individual awards: Grace Andrews and Rachel Schmidlin, first place, Feature Spread Design; Betsy Williams and Kate Brennan, second place, Feature Copy; and co-editors Carryl Tinsley and Rachel Schmidlin, honorable mention for Theme Copy.

Cape Fear Academy’s newspaper, The Hurricane, edited by Fields Pierce and Betsy Williams, earned an Honor designation and honorable mentions in both design and graphics.

Eight Publications students accompanied adviser Jan Reid to the 74th annual institute, held June 18-21 at the UNC-CH School of Journalism and Mass Communication, for classes in advanced yearbook, photography, and desktop publishing. The team of Grace Andrews, Alexis Smith, and Sheila Nüñez earned recognition for their work on theme coverage and their graphic design notebook. Photographers Julia Andrews, Mackenzie Dalton, and Addie Lalier also received individual awards.

More than 400 middle and high school journalism students and teachers participated in the institute, which includes training by UNC journalism faculty and other professional journalists. NCSMA directs and monitors student journalism in state high schools.

Members of the publications staff include Charles Anderson, Grace Andrews, Julia Andrews, Kate Brennan, Maddie Buren, Alyx Copley, Britt Creighton, Mackenzie Dalton, Sarah Diab, Clark Dozier, Katherine Franck, Lilly Hawfield, Erica Horrigan, Susanna Jenkins, Addie Lalier, Ellen Liverman, Savanah Knowles, Jillian Matt, Julia Moore, Sheila Nüñez, Parks Nunnally, Georgia Parker, Caroline Patella, Kacey Patella, Fields Pierce, Rachel Schmidlin, Alexa Shockley, Alexis Smith, Lazelle Smith, Shephard Sullivan, Margaret Ann Thurston, Carryl Tinsley, Graham Tinsley, Louise Turlington, Betsy Williams, Hannah Williams, Will Young, and Lindsey Zimmer.