Cape Fear Academy Thespians Receive Top Honors at NCTC High School Play Festival

Congratulations to the CFA Theatre Department who won the Distinguished Play Award at the NCTC High School Play Festival in Charlotte this weekend. This honor advances the cast and crew of both “The Actor’s Nightmare” and “Asylum” to State Competition at Greensboro College on Nov. 20th and 21st.

Other awards for CFA thespians were:

Excellence is Ensemble Acting – Asylum (Eric Kanzinger, Zach Tomosunas, Micah McDaniel, Samantha Melin, Clare Glenn, Lily Zukerman, Wilker Ballantine and Camryn Kellogg)

Excellence in Costume Design – Asylum (Shephard Sullivan) and The Actor’s Nightmare (Kelly Butler)

Theatre Arts Award: Excellence in Scenic Construction – Asylum and The Actor’s Nightmare (TJ Carter, Fisher Yeargan, Camille Bourne and Eric Kanzinger – Independent Study in Technical Theatre)

Theatre Arts Award: Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design and Technical Implementation – Asylum (TJ Carter)

Excellence in Acting (Female) – Grace Murtha (The Actor’s Nightmare)

Outstanding Achievement in Acting (Female) – Lea Jaffe (The Actor’s Nightmare)

Excellence in Directing – Ms. Jennifer Avery

Distinguished Play Award – “Asylum”

These honors were given in a competitive arena that included some very large public schools as well as several larger, highly regarded Charlotte independent schools.